item1 LLLogo item1
item1 Surrey Lieutenancy item1
item1 The honours system item1

Queen’s Birthday Honours

Professor Parveen Jane Kumar CBE

Peter Schofield

Professor Haro Bedelian OBE FREng
Humphrey Cadoux-Hudson
Ms Clair Price
Christopher Satterthwaite
Alan Smith
Ms June Spencer OBE
Mrs Petra Wilkinson

Mrs Belinda Earl
Mrs Gillian Norton DL

John Allinson
William Bagnall
Mrs Cheryl Cates
James Dick
Ms Ndidi Ekubia
Miss Nicola Murdoch
Ms Helen Myers
Stephen Oxlade

Mrs Mary Kasey
Gavin Lambert
Stephen Newman
Mrs Margaret Parry
Mrs Margaret Pick
Mrs Helen Stoodley
Mrs Jean Watkins



Awards for Surrey residents


© Surrey Lieutenancy 2016

The honours system offers public recognition to people in all walks of life and all sections of society who have given quite exceptional service and made a difference in their community or in the country. There are several different types of award, each one recognising a different type of contribution.

The British honours system is one of the oldest in the world. It has evolved over 650 years and today recognises merit, gallantry and service. Honours lists are published twice a year at New Year and in mid-June on the date of The Queen's official birthday.

Anyone can receive an award if they reach the required standard of merit or service, and honours lists contain a wide variety of people from different backgrounds. Anyone can nominate someone for an award but it is important to note that longevity in a position is not sufficient in itself and that honours are not usually awarded after someone has retired.

Access to the required form and further information can be obtained by clicking here.

To support a nomination, it is essential to source and submit several strong letters of recommendation, from people who know at first hand about the work that has been done by the individual being nominated.

It is important to recognise that a nomination can take around 18 months to go through the vetting process, from the point it is submitted to the Cabinet Office. The fact of nomination should be kept strictly confidential as sadly a relatively few people can be honoured and it is best to avoid disappointment. If a nomination proves unsuccessful. it is sometimes possible for the Lord-Lieutenant to arrange some other form of recognition, as a ‘thank you’ for exceptional service.

New Year Honours

Knight Bachelor
Andrew Murray OBE

Knight Commander of the
Order of the Bath
Mark Andrew Lowcock CB

Ms Sarah Church

Ms Sue-Anne Hilbre Biggs
Michael Neil Murray Boyd
Councillor David Hodge

Jonathan Mark England
Grant David Hearn
Mrs Roma Cecilia Anne Hooper
Miss Alison Cristine Kervin
Ms Amanda Jane Nobbs

Ms Sally Ann Barker TD
Miss Sophie Charlotte Bray
Mark Michael Terance Casali
Ms Anne Dickins
Richard George Dunning
Mrs Pauline Mary Hedges
Michael John Evans Herring
Mrs Janet Enid Maines
Miss Joanna Manning-Cooper
Ms Nicola Lucienne Molnar
Ms Rachel Morris
Ms Hannah Russell
Mrs Katherine Elizabeth Smyth
Ms Olwen Patricia Tomlinson

Miss Tanya Catherine Ann Brookfield
Ms Linda Ann Charles
Lionel James Cecil Faulkner
Mrs Gwyneth Margaret Fookes
William John Gerlach
Mrs Joan Dorothy Hattersley
James Quick
David Villa-Clarke



Awards for Surrey residents
2016 - 2012