item1Surrey Lieutenancyitem1

© Surrey Lieutenancy 2019


The honours system

The honours system offers public recognition to people in all walks of life and all sections of society who have given quite exceptional service and made a difference in their community or in the country. There are several different types of award, each one recognising a different type of contribution. 

The British honours system is one of the oldest in the world. It has evolved over 650 years and today recognises merit, gallantry and service. Honours lists are published twice a year at New Year and in mid-June on the date of The Queen's official birthday.

Anyone can receive an award if they reach the required standard of merit or service, and honours lists contain a wide variety of people from different backgrounds. Anyone can nominate someone for an award but it is important to note that longevity in a position is not sufficient in itself and that honours are not usually awarded after someone has retired.

Access to the required form and further information can be obtained by clicking here

To support a nomination, it is essential to source and submit several strong letters of recommendation, from people who know at first hand about the work that has been done by the individual being nominated.

It is important to recognise that a nomination can take around 18 months to go through the vetting process, from the point it is submitted to the Cabinet Office. The fact of nomination should be kept strictly confidential as sadly a relatively few people can be honoured and it is best to avoid disappointment. If a nomination proves unsuccessful. it is sometimes possible for the Lord-Lieutenant to arrange some other form of recognition, as a ‘thank you’ for exceptional service.


Privacy Notice

Awards for Surrey residents

Queen’s Birthday Honours 

Knight Bachelor
Jonathan Coles
James Wates CBE

Companion of the Order of the Bath
Glyn Williams

Philip Brook
Ms Susan Percy

Brendan Bayley
Andrew Ferguson
Ms Kathryn Harries
Dr Anne Kemp
Barnaby Kistruck
Mrs Linda Rose
David Wagstaff
Robin Wilkinson

Mrs Olasubomi Aina
Daniel Bates
Dr Navnit Chana
Mrs Janice Way

Walter Kammerling
James Packham
Dr Brian Perry

Archived honours 2018 - 2012


New Year Honours 

Companion of the Order of the Bath
Mrs Julie Gillis 

Mrs Alison Baptiste
Mrs Cecilia Mathieson
Professor Ian Gordon Murray 

Mrs Catherine de Marco
Dr William James Glover
Miss Gillian McManus
Anthony Osmond
Paul Woodrow

Christopher Cowls
Timothy Davis
Ms Alison Hall
William Harmsworth JP
Graeme Main
Mrs Sheila Stone
Neil Warnock

Richard Burford
Robert Chappell
Mrs Carol Gordon-Alleyne
Stewart Henderson
Mrs Penelope Ann Hodgson
Miss Elaine Lush
Mrs Davina Macdonald Russell
Mrs Mary Pashley
Roger Pashley
Laurence Unthank
Ms Sophia Warner
Mrs Mary Wright