item1Surrey Lieutenancyitem1
item1Deputy Lieutenantsitem1

Deputy Lieutenants (DLs) are commissioned by the Lord-Lieutenant, with candidates 'not disapproved' by HM The Queen. Their role is to support and promote the Lieutenancy in Surrey and to represent the Lord-Lieutenant, performing a range of public duties when required.

The maximum establishment of DLs in Surrey is 57. That number is based on the county’s population of
around 1.2 million people. There are 37 DLs currently on the active list. Deputy Lieutenants retire at the age of 75 and then join a supplementary list, but carry out no further duties as a DL.

The DLs in Surrey reflect a broad range of services to the community, cultural background, ethnic mix, gender and social range. They are often well known in the locality for their work in the local community or nationally, or for their distinguished service in other fields. This could be through public life, the uniformed services, charitable or volunteering activities.

Shahid Azeem DL
CW (Bill) Biddell DL
Baroness Bottomley of Nettlestone (Virginia) PC JP DL
Dr Helen Bowcock OBE DL
Mrs Caroline Breckell MVO DL
HH Judge Christopher Critchlow DL
Paul Coleman DL
Robert Douglas CBE DL
Vice Admiral Peter Dunt CB DL
Dr Karin Englehart MRCP FFFLM DL (Mrs Karin Sehmer)
Brigadier Paul Evans OBE DL
Charles Fowler TD DL
Martin John Gerrard QPM DL
Colonel AP Guthrie TD DL
Brigadier Roger Hood QVRM TD DL

Perdita Hunt OBE DL
Sir Stephen Lamport KCVO DL
Professor Paul Layzell BA (Econ) MSc PhD FBCS EEng DL
Peter Lee DL
Commander Susan Lochner JP DL RN
Professor Max Lu AO FAA FTSE FLchemE FRSC DL

Robert Napier CBE DL
The Revd Canon Nigel Nicholson DL
Lady O’Connor (Louise) DL
Timothy Prideaux JP DL
Hugh Riley JP DL
Professor Francis Robinson CBE DL
Paul Ryder JP DL
The Hon Mrs
Lavinia Sealy DL
Dr Vir Seth MB FRCP DL
Major General Tim Sulivan CB CBE DL
Lady Toulson (Elizabeth) CBE DL
Anthony Townsend DL
Mrs Sally Varah MBE DL
Timothy Wates DL
Richard Whittington DL
Nicholas Wood-Dow DL


© Surrey Lieutenancy 2018